CANTO: Nuclear Power Trio, Fires in the Distance, Dawn of Ouroboros, and More

Late night canto because fucking everything is annoying right now.

  • Fires in the Distance and Dawn of Ouroboros announced a run of live dates this coming October, titled The Perseverance of Light tour. Alas, nothing anywhere near me, but here’s the full schedule for those that can make it happen.
  • Canadian progressive metallers Oni dropped a beast of a new single, titled “Silence In A Room Of Lies”. That track features Jared Dines, a name I haven’t heard in a minute. There’s a music video for that one you can check out here.
  • Next, we’ve got some stuff from Primal Fear. Check out the latest single and video, “Another Hero”, the first taste from Code Red. That new full-length is slated for a September 1 release through Atomic Fire.
  • Nuclear Power Trio announced a new album, Wet Ass Plutonium. Their sophomore album will be out on July 28 through Metal Blade, and a video for “Nyetflix and Chill” can be seen directly below. I’m entertained.

“Ein Bier… bitte.”

CANTO: Hexvessel, Induction, Sirenia, and More

My favorite Thursday night sentence: Last canto of the week! (Just kidding… or am I?)

  • Hexvessel are returning with their sixth album on September 22, titled Polar Veil, which will be out through Svart Records. Check out this clip for “Older Than The Gods” right here.
  • Symphonic power metal crew Induction shared a new track, “A Call Beyond”, the visualizer for which can be seen here. That comes about six months after the release of their sophomore album, Born From Fire, which is available through Atomic Fire.
  • I’ve seen some hype surrounding Divide and Dissolve, so let’s go there next. Systemic is out on June 30 through Invada Records, and a clip for the new track, “Indignation”, can be found here.
  • Tenhi released a lyric video for “Elokuun linnut”, a track from the upcoming Valkama. That new album is slated for a June 9 release through Prophecy Productions.
  • And we’ll close with some more symphonic stuff, because why not? Sirenia is dropping 1977 tomorrow, so here’s the performance video for the third single from that, “Wintry Heart”. That album is out through Napalm Records.

“Ein Bier… bitte.”

CANTO: The Ocean, Miscreance, Eleine, and More

Holocene is out tomorrow… which means I may be hard to reach.

  • Speaking of which, you can stream the new album from The Ocean a little early here. That one is, of course, out through Pelagic Records…tomorrow. In case that wasn’t clear.
  • Swedish dark symphonic metal collective Eleine dropped a video for “War Das Alles”, which you can see here. That’s the latest from We Shall Remain, which is out on July 14 through Atomic Fire.
  • Outer Heaven announced their new album, Infinite Psychic Depths, will be out July 21 through Napalm Records. Give the video for “Rotting Stone / D.M.T.” a watch while you’re at it.
  • I don’t hear from Junius much unfortunately, so let’s go there next. They premiered an acoustic version of “Transcend the Ghost” through Decibel. A repress for Reports from the Threshold of Death is out through Prosthetic but is probably sold out at this point.
  • We can wrap up the day with some old school tech death. Miscreance shared a new music video for “The Garden”. That’s taken from the reissue of their debut album, Convergence, which is out tomorrow through Season of Mist.

“Ein Bier… bitte.”

CANTO: Tanith, After The Burial, Obituary, and More

obituary band 2023

Not gonna lie to ya, today was another weird one. Let’s get this over with…

  • After The Burial dropped their first music in a few years, so that’s as good of a place to start as any. The new double single, Embrace The Infinity, was released through Sumerian Records. Check out the clip for “Nothing Gold” here, and stream the two tracks here.
  • Obituary announced the “Barely-A-Live-Stream”, set to take place on April 22 and 23. They’ll be performing some classics from their discography on the 22nd, and then Dying of Everything in full the following day. This all falls before their headlining tour that kicks off on April 28.
  • In other tour news, Necrofier announced some dates in the Western United States, with Midnight and Early Moods. Those dates are in June, and you can see the full schedule here.
  • Sci-fi metallers Curse Of Cain shared a visualizer for “Hurt”, a track taken from their self-titled album. That one is set for a May 12 release through Atomic Fire.
  • New York City’s Tanith are releasing Voyage on April 21 through Metal Blade, and today they dropped a new video for “Olympus by Dawn”. That, my friends, is how I’m going to close out my productivity for the day. Drink time.

“Ein Bier… bitte.”

Initial Descent: February 6 – 12, 2022

Amorphis courtesy of Sam Jamsen

This winter weather is relentless. Maybe spring will start early. Anyway, new release time and this week knocks off a handful of my early 2022 most anticipated albums and preorders. A mailbox full of preorders does indeed make me happy despite the cold weather, so there’s that. Moving on, Amorphis just get better with age and Halo finds them lean just a tad harder on the heavier side but still in excellent melodic form, pretty much one of my favorites from them in a long time. As we all know, when Zeal & Ardor hit the scene they shook all the foundations of metal and beyond and with this week’s effort, they throw caution completely to the wind and offer up their best, and wildest, yet. Following those we’ve got epic post-metal from Cult of Luna, wrecking ball grind from Napalm Death, and a long list of other releases worthy of your time. Jump in there and get cracking, tons of goodies to discover this week. 

Continue reading