CANTO: To The Grave, Har Shatan, Jesus Piece, and More

Today was the Monday-ist Monday that ever Monday-ed.

“Ein Bier… bitte.”

CANTO: Shape of Despair, Ceremonial Castings, Vincent Crowley, and More

Another day down, two more until vacation.

  • We’ll lead off with Shape of Despair, who premiered a new track today. The funeral doom veterans are releasing their new full-length, Return to the Void, on February 25th through Season of Mist. The newest track, “Dissolution”, is available for streaming here.
  • Archspire are premiering the Bleed the Future studio documentary. That takes place tomorrow, December 22nd, at 2:00 PM EST. That will give a behind the scenes look at the making of their new album. That should be a good time, so check it out.
  • In case you weren’t aware, I’ll remind you that The Lonely Ones are hitting the road next month, following a couple dates with Sevendust this month. And then they have more dates in April! So yeah, busy first half of 2022 for them. Should be good.
  • Ceremonial Castings are releasing the 25th anniversary double-album Our Journey Through Forever on February 25th through Eisenwald. To pass a little bit of time, hear the brand new recording of “Immortal Black Art” here.
  • And we’ll close with the new video from Vincent Crowley for “Masquerade Du Macabre”. That’s taken from the debut album, which dropped back in May through Odium Records.

“Ein Bier… bitte.”

CANTO: Crown, Panopticon, Regarde Les Hommes Tomber, and More

The news seems rather light today, but I’m sure I can dig up a few things.

  • This isn’t exactly a breaking update, but it’s worth mentioning either way. Shadow Woods Metal Fest is returning this year, scheduled for the weekend of August 27th, and Panopticon has been announced as the headliner. Naturally, an ideal setting for such a performance. Tickets are available here.
  • Norwegian black metal crew Vulture Lord are releasing their first album in 18 years. Desecration Rite is set for a release on June 20th through Odium Records, and is available for pre-order here. We’ll loop back with a new track and/or more information once it surfaces.
  • We’re going to wrap this up with a couple Roadburn Redux performances, because those make me happy. The first comes from Regarde Les Hommes Tomber, who shared their performance of Ascension in full. Side note, that album dropped in early 2020 through Season of Mist, if you need a copy.
  • And then we have the studio performance of “Neverland” from Crown. The End of All Things was an April release through Pelagic Records, and so far is proving to be one of my favorite listens of the year. Pelagic has been on a roll. Anyway, check out the clip below.

“Ein Bier… bitte.”

CANTO: Act of Denial, Cradle of Filth, Dreamshade, and More

Anybody else just… not feeling it today? God damn.

  • Cradle of Filth have postponed their live stream event to May 12th. To be honest, I don’t even remember what date it was originally scheduled for, but it sounds like the postponement was due to new album business. Get your tickets here, and keep an eye out for Existence Is Futile later this year.
  • Act of Denial released a new single today, titled “Slave”, which features ex-Soilwork guitarist Pete Wichers. The supergroup’s debut album, Negative, is set for a release sometime later this year through Crusader Records.
  • Vincent Crowley released the first song and lyric video, “La Muerte”, from his upcoming Odium Records release. Beyond Acheron is set for a June release, so we’re still a few months out from that one.
  • I’m not entirely sure what a Dreamshade is, but that sounds like a good video to close with. Check out the clip for “Safe Harbour” immediately below, and be sure to scoop up A Pale Blue Dot, which is out now.

“Ein Bier… bitte.”

CANTO: Hell-Born, MØL, Thy Catafalque, and More

I can only imagine what wonders will unfold before us this week.

  • We’ll start with Hell-Born, the extreme metal crew out of Poland. They have a new album, Natas Liah, set for a January 26th release through Odium Records. Check out the recently release new track, “Blakk Metal”, which features Nergal of Behemoth.
  • Nuclear Blast has added a new name to their roster. Danish blackgazers MØL have officially signed on with the label. Not too many details have emerged just yet, but it looks like their second studio album, and debut with Nuclear Blast, will be out later this year.
  • Trial (Swe) are releasing a short 2-track EP on January 29th, titled Sisters of the Moon, through Metal Blade Records. Check out a preview here, and feel free to click that pre-order button if you feel so inclined.
  • And lastly, a new video from Thy Catafalque. The new clip for “Napút” can be seen below, a track taken from Naiv, which dropped last January through Season of Mist.

“Ein Bier… bitte.”