CANTO: Seven Spires, Majesties, Anti-Flag, and More

It’s a Friday, and it’s snowing. It’s going to be a good weekend…

  • But first! A new project I am VERY excited about. Majesties, a melodic death metal trio featuring the minds behind Obsequiae and Inexorum, are releasing Vast Reaches Unclaimed on March 3rd through 20 Buck Spin. The hype is real. Give “The World Unseen” a listen here.
  • Next, we have some new Anti-Flag to share. The video for “Sold Everything” is available here. Their 13th album, Lies They Tell Our Children, is out today through Spinefarm.
  • Danish hardcore group Eyes have revealed “Generation L”, the second single from Congratulations. That album is out on February 3rd through Indisciplinarian.
  • Symphonic metallers Seven Spires are releasing a new live album on March 17th, titled Live at Progpower USA XXI. Check out the footage of “Ghosts Of Yesterday” below. They’re also on tour in both Europe and North America in the coming months, so get on that as well.

“Ein Bier… bitte.”

Adam Bjørn Schønemann-Warming of Orm on their new album “Intet • Altet” and much more!

Image courtesy of Adriana Zak

Denmark’s Orm have been active since 2015 and with their last two albums the band have shown a deep understanding of epic and melodic black metal that at times veers close to atmospheric and at other times close to the vicious and raw side. It’s a beautiful amalgamation and even more so on their latest, Intet • Altet, where they opt for longer compositions and more time to explore their multi-faceted approach. Buke recently spoke with drummer Adam Bjørn Schønemann-Warming to discuss the new album and how it came to be, the choice for longer songs, and so much more. We now bring you this conversation in its entirety so grab your beverage of choice, a seat, and enjoy. 

Continue reading

CANTO: Lamb of God, Psychonaut, Isafjørd, and More

And now, officially, the two week countdown is on. Whatever happens after the next three weeks? I really don’t care.

  • Psychonaut unveiled a new track today titled “Violate Consensus Reality”. The track features Colin H. Van Eeckhout of Amenra and Stefanie Mannaerts from Brutus. So, yeah, needless to say it is very much worth a few minutes of your time. Anyway, that’s the title-track from their new album that drops on October 28th through Pelagic Records.
  • Danish atmospheric black metal crew Orm are releasing Intet • Altet on September 30th through Indisciplinarian. Today they shared the third excerpt from that double album, titled “Trance/Floden, som kan lede”.
  • Aðalbjörn “Addi” Tryggvason of Sólstafir has teamed up with Ragnar Zolberg of Sign for the creation of Isafjørd. The debut album from the new post-rock project, titled Hjartastjak, will be out on December 2nd it appears. Here’s the first single, “Falin Skemmd”.
  • What do we think of “Grayscale”, the latest from Lamb of God? Personally, I like it. But that probably comes as no surprise. Omens is out on October 7th through Epic Records.

“Ein Bier… bitte.”

CANTO: Pain, Inexorum, Alkymist, and More

pain peter tagtgren

“Suits and ties decide your destiny from dollar signs, and when the goddamn boat starts to sink they don’t care who’s left behind.”

“Ein Bier… bitte.”
– cmb