CANTO: Blood Incantation, Helloween, Behemoth, and More

And on this day, we drink bourbon.

“Ein Bier… bitte.”

CANTO: Hangman’s Chair, Blood Red Throne, Hunters Moon, and More

Metal internet is hilarious, and also the worst. What? Anyway, it’s a slower day so let’s find some stuff to share.

  • We’ll lead off with Hangman’s Chair, the dark doom collective out of France. Today they unveiled a new track, “Loner”, with accompanying video. That’s out through Nuclear Blast, and you can stream it pretty much wherever you’d like.
  • Hunters Moon have set November 26th as the release date for The Great Pandemonium. The black metallers debut will be out through Hells Headbangers. Pre-order it here, and just a heads up that the vinyl release will come sometime next year. Check out the new track, “Hearse for a Barren Earth, right now.
  • California hardcore crew Slowbleed have signed on with Creator-Destructor, and have a new album due in early 2022. A new track, “The Law (Atonement Through Blood), is available here.
  • Imperial Congregation, the latest from Blood Red Throne, was officially released today. So naturally we’ll close with their new video for “Transparent Existence”. Give it a watch below, and order the album here (out through Nuclear Blast).

“Ein Bier… bitte.”

Initial Descent: August 15 – 21, 2021

Wolves In The Throne Room

Even in a light volume release week, 2021 is still pumping out the quality jams. Questionable, obviously, pending individual tastes but no one can argue with the latest from Wolves In The Throne Room who pump out, in my opinion, one of their best albums in a mighty long time. Strong statement? Absolutely. True statement? Again, absolutely. Next up is Bonehunter who have never taken themselves seriously, but have always thrown out serious quality speed metal, and last in the top slots here is Beastlurker with a beast (see what I did there, Monday morning glee folks) of a blackened death metal album. Not a ton more follows, but rest assured there’s several down there worth your time and hard earned cash. So, get to it and we’ll see you here throughout the week.

Continue reading

CANTO: Goat Torment, Suicidal Tendencies, Hammr, and More

Multiday hangovers are the worst.

  • This may fall more into the alternative rock category, but whatever. Grayscale have announced a headlining U.S. tour this coming November (and I guess December), with support from girlfriends, Cemetery Sun, and Young Culture. They’ve got some festival appearances as well, and a new record dropping on August 27th through Fearless Records titled Umbra. Busy times, apparently.
  • Let’s change gears a bit. Or a lot of bits. Belgian blackened death metal crew Goat Torment have signed on with Season of Mist. It’s been six years since Sermons To Death was released, but it looks like we’ll be getting their third studio album sometime later this year, which is awesome.
  • A little random, but a fun inclusion either way I guess. The So Cal Hoedown returns on September 18th, at Port of Los Angeles, and Suicidal Tendencies has been added to the lineup. I will not be going, but this looks like a fun time for anyone in the area.
  • Let’s check out “Forces of Sin”, the first single taken from Eternal Possession. The second album from Hammr will be released this fall through Hells Headbangers, with the LP release delayed until 2022. I’m going to keep an eye out as more details emerge for this one.

“Ein Bier… bitte.”

CANTO: Meshuggah, Swallow The Sun, Armored Saint, and More

I have run out of beer. That is the biggest problem I face today.

  • Much like yesterday, we’ll start today with a new tour. Meshuggah have announced a 2022 tour with Converge and Torche. That is an absolutely massive bill. The dates are in February and March, with things kicking off in Silver Spring, Maryland. Tickets go on sale July 2nd and can be acquired here.
  • Finnish death doom masters Swallow The Sun have announced a new live album, 20 Years Of Gloom, Beauty and Despair – Live in Helsinki. The first live track and video, for “Don’t Fall Asleep (Horror, Pt. II) [Live in Helsinki]”, can be viewed here. That album drops on July 30th through Century Media.
  • Krossfyre have set the release date for their Hells Headbangers debut. Rites of Extermination will be out on July 23rd, on CD format, with a vinyl release planned for later this year. Pre-order that beast at this location.
  • We’ll wrap Tuesday up with the new video from Armored Saint for “Lone Wolf”. That track is taken from their latest release, Punching The Sky, which dropped last October through Metal Blade. Side note: they also dropped some slick new merch you can grab here. Enjoy that clip below.

“Ein Bier… bitte.”