CANTO: Every Time I Die, Lesser Glow, …and Oceans, and More


Quiet day everywhere except in my mind.

  • It seems as though Every Time I Die has teased about half a minute of new music. If anyone has managed to form an opinion off of those brief seconds, the floor is all yours!
  • Not the most surprising thing, but Rocklahoma 2020 has been canceled. The event, scheduled for Memorial Day weekend, made the announcement yesterday. Five Finger Death Punch, Slipknot, and Staind were the planned headliners.
  • Lesser Glow have a new album dropping on May 29th through Pelagic Records called Nullity. A track titled “The Great Imitator” is streaming now, and a pre-order link is available for you to take advantage of.
  • We’ll close with a new music video from …and Oceans for the track “Five of Swords”. Their next album, Cosmic World Mother, drops on May 8th through Season of Mist.

“Ein Bier… bitte.”
– cmb

CANTO: Domination Festival, Rocklahoma, Wolves in the Throne Room, and More


I want a new camera. Just because.

“Ein Bier… bitte.”
– cmb

Donuts & CANTO: Sólstafir, Tool, the Night Flight Orchestra and more!


March 24, 2017

Good morning, it’s time to metal. Here’s some news you may have missed from yesterday:

  • First off, a little something that should make our Literati Overlord wet in the pants: Sólstafir have dropped a new song, titled “Bláfjall.” It’ll be on their new album, Berdreyminn, which drops in May. Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to go listen / be sad / wish I was Icelandic.
  • Next, a little something that should make us all wet in the pants: Tool are apparently in talks to end their holdout from streaming services. I’m pretty sure this leaves Kid Rock as the lone major streaming holdout, and…I mean, if you give a fuck about that, you’re reading the wrong blog.
  • The Night Flight Orchestra are dropping a new album in May, but to whet our appetites, they’ve released a lyric video for the their new song, “Midnight Flyer.” In case you’re not familiar, the Night Flight Orchestra is Björn Strid (Soilwork), Sharlee D’Angelo (Arch Enemy) and others playing dad-rock. It’s better than it sounds, I promise.
  • Speaking (again) of bands that have stuff coming out in May, Neurosis guitarist Steve Von Till released a new song from his side project, Harvestman. It’s all kinds of terrific.
  • Belphegor have announced their 11th studio album, Totenritual. I know what you’re thinking, but guess what, fuckers? THIS ONE’s coming out in September. So there.
  • Rocklahoma — otherwise known as “what happens when your balding rocker dad gets into your Pixy Stix supply during a bad trip and decides to start a festival” — has announced its daily headliners for 2017. They are: Def Leppard, Soundgarden and The Offspring. Sense: this lineup makes none.
  • And finally, Artificial Brain have released the title track from their upcoming album Infrared Horizon, with guest vocals from Trevor Strnad of The Black Dahlia Murder. Check it out below:

Infrared Horizon drops in April via Profound Lore. Anyway, that’ll do it for now — check back this time on Monday for our next edition!

Keep it heavy,

CANTO: A 2016 Ghost tour, Rocklahoma bands, and more!


I’m not good at getting these done consistently anymore.

  • Ghost is back on tour! If you missed them back in 2015, you’re in luck. They’re stringing together a run of shows April and May of this year.
  • Blake Judd is back! Well, back on the internet at least. Apparently he is done with drugs and music for good. I wonder what 2016 will end up bringing him…
  • The Rocklahoma band lineup has been announced. Headliners include Scorpions, Disturbed, and Rob Zombie. How about a nice tall glass of ‘no thank you?’
  • So, this is new. It looks like you can now get Slipknot action figures, if you’re into that. Not all of them, because why would there be any kind of logic in this?
  • Oranssi Pazuzu have released a new track from their upcoming Värähtelijä, which drops on February 20th. The song is called “Hypnotisoitu Viharukous” and it’s amazing.

“Ein Bier… bitte.”
– Corey

CANTO: Soilwork’s New Album, Neurosis’ New Tour, and the Aftermath of Rocklahoma


Hey everyone, I’m officially back into the flow of the routine now that MDF is all said and done. I still haven’t decided if that’s a good thing yet. But, you don’t care, so let’s bring metal back into focus:

“Ein Bier… bitte.”

– Corey