CANTO: Rotten Sound, Thulcandra, Ghost, and More

There was a game on last night that I think I watched? Can’t remember.

  • I’m in a mood today, so let’s lead in with some grindcore. Rotten Sound is dropping Apocalypse on March 31 through Season of Mist, and today they unveiled a video for the new track “Nothingness”. Give it a watch here.
  • This is an interesting tour. Ghost is taking Amon Amarth on the road here in the U.S. this coming August in September. Various presales go live tomorrow, with public sales starting on Friday as always.
  • We’ve got another new track from Majesties floating around, and that’s a no-brainer. Give “Our Gracious Captors” a listen here. Vast Reaches Unclaimed is out on March 3 through 20 Buck Spin.
  • Jesus Piece revealed a new track today, and word on the street is that it’s a banger. Give “Tunnel Vision” a listen here. That’s taken from their forthcoming album, …So Unknown, which is out on April 14 through Century Media.
  • We’ll close out with some Thulcandra. They have a new album dropping on May 19 through Napalm Records titled Hail The Abyss, and the video for “As I Walk Through The Gateway” can be seen below. They’re also on tour with Wolfheart, Fleshgod Apocalypse, and Obscura for the next month or so.

“Ein Bier… bitte.”

CANTO: The Ocean, Wolfheart, Omega Infinity, and More

FINALLY some news I was seriously anticipating…

“Ein Bier… bitte.”

CANTO: Wolfheart, Saint Asonia, Dryad, and More

One more day, and then this move into the mountains goes into full force.

  • Hard rock crew Saint Asonia have announced a new EP, titled Extrovert. That six-track collection will be out on November 18 through Spinefarm, and follows their Introvert EP from earlier this year. Give “Wolf” a listen here.
  • Out of Prosthetic Records, black metal project Dryad have announced a new album, titled The Abyssal Plain. That is set for a January 20 release, and a video for the lead single “Black Smoke” is available over at Decibel.
  • Out of the Season of Mist camp, Obsidious premiered a performance video of a new track titled “I Am”, with footage from Euroblast 2022. That’s taken from the progressive metallers upcoming debut album, Iconic, which drops tomorrow.
  • Closing out, we have the new video from melodic death metal outfit Wolfheart. Give “Knell” a watch and listen below, a track taken from King of the North. That album is out now through Napalm Records.

“Ein Bier… bitte.”

The Nine Circles Playlist Vol. 249 (9.17.2022)

You know what it is. I’m too tired and too hung over to get a more pithy introduction out for the 249th edition of the Nine Circles Playlist, so let’s just get to the music, huh?

A lot of new music out this week, but I keep finding myself drawn back to the latest from Mork, who kill it with their raw, atmospheric black metal. We also have the debut from Sonja finally in our hands, and I may have more to say about that next week, pairing them off with the wicked retro thrash of Transgressive. We also have new music from Lorna Shore, Wolfheart, Trocar, the Anitchrist Imperium, Dream Unending, Woods of Desolation, AWS, Behemoth, and Psychonaut, not to mention a killer classic of post punk from Pink Turns Blue.

Get listening. Stay safe. See you next week.


Initial Descent: September 11 – 17, 2022

Tribal Gaze – image courtesy of Sidney Stauts

It’s amazing the crap we deal with on a day to day basis. Utterly amazing…pretty much all I’ve got for an opener AND it’s only Monday. Go figure. However, we’ve got some aggressive tunes to soothe the pain this week in the form of a destructive death metal debut from Tribal Gaze and yes this is the the same Tribal Gaze that put out that barnburner of an EP last year. Next up is a long awaited diesel fueled rock storm from Clutch, an extreme and obtuse outing from Destrage, a consistently METAL outing from Wolfheart, and a crap ton more in the list that follows. Do what you do best and go show all these bands some love via whatever purchasing outlet you land on. It’s as easy as copy / paste from here and the rest is history. Happy hunting and we’ll see you here throughout the week.

Continue reading