CANTO: Dream Unending, Revocation, Rebel Wizard, and More


The inbox has been blowing up today, which means there has to be some good stuff in there.

  • Dream Unending made waves last year with their debut, Tide Turns Eternal. And now, less than a year from that release, it’s time to prepare for their sophomore effort. Song of Salvation drops on November 11th through 20 Buck Spin, and “Secret Grief” is streaming now.
  • Fallujah released Empyrean today through Nuclear Blast (it’s quite good), and to mark the occasion they shared a new visualizer for “Mindless Omnipotent Master”. Give it a watch here. And if you need more reading material around that album, here’s Ian’s review.
  • Rebel Wizard is releasing a compilation vinyl titled The Warning of Three on September 23rd through Prosthetic Records. It will feature a collection of songs originally only released digitally, and pre-orders are up here. You can also check out a visualizer for “Floating Forward with Closed Eyes Filled with Light” here.
  • To jump into the weekend, we’ll close with the latest from Revocation. The video for “Nihilistic Violence” is below, a track obviously taken from Netherheaven. Their latest album dropped today through Metal Blade.

“Ein Bier… bitte.”

Erika Osterhout of Acephalix on their new album “Theothanatology” and much more!

Image courtesy of Adam Houmam

It’s been five years since Acephalix last graced the death metal scene and a lot has happened in that stretch of time. But, the band’s upcoming fourth full length, Theothanatology, is the kind of barbaric brutality we’ve come to think of from the now quintet, yet better, more furious, and nastier than ever. While it’s true we’ll have to wait just a bit longer to hear it in full, Buke sat down with bassist Erika Osterhout for a wide ranging discussion surrounding this new album, the meaning behind the title, and so much more. We now bring you this conversation in its entirety so grab your beverage of choice, a seat, and enjoy. 

Continue reading

CANTO: Black Anvil, Ingested, Judicator, and More

This week, much like last week, can go right in the fucking shredder.

  • Ingested are releasing Ashes Lie Still on November 4th through Metal Blade, and today they unveiled the video for “Tides of Glass”. It’s awesome. Be sure to catch them on tour with Lorna Shore this coming October and November.
  • Going in a bit of a different direction, Judicator have announced details surrounding their new album. The Majesty of Decay is set for a November 25th release through Prosthetic Records. The lead single, “The High Priestess”, is streaming over at Metal Injection.
  • Florida black/doom metal collective Worm are releasing a new EP on October 28th through 20 Buck Spin, titled Bluenothing. I really enjoyed Foreverglade from last year, so yes I’m excited about this. Anyway, here’s a teaser for ya.
  • We’re going to close the day, and maybe my week, with the second track from Black Anvil off of Regenesis. This one is titled “8 Bit Terror”, and you can see the video for it below. For what it’s worth, I enjoy this track much more than the last offering. That album drops on November 4th through Season of Mist.

“Ein Bier… bitte.”

Album Review: Hulder – “The Eternal Fanfare”

Hulder - The Eternal Fanfare

Is everything old new again? Are we back on loving the second wave of black metal? I can’t keep track. Maybe it just takes someone new to the field, bringing a level of execution that makes people look up and go “Oh yeah…there WAS a reason this thing birthed a whole series of sub genres and offshoots and the such.” Hulder, the solo black metal project certainly knows how to deliver a forceful, tightly woven black metal album, and on their latest mini LP The Eternal Fanfare show that injecting a more robust production doesn’t take away from the general necro vibe, and that – done right – there’s still vitality in a sound folks starting railing against almost as soon as it came out.

Continue reading

Initial Descent: June 26 – July 2, 2022


I’m baaaack, sunburn and all. Miss me? Rhetorical…of course you did. Thanks to the homies for taking on my duties from last week. By now, I’m sure you’ve dabbled with the new Megadeth track, but if not, what the hell are you waiting for, DO IT! Seriously, this is the best Mustaine and Co. have sounded in… let’s just say a very long time. Alright then; new week, new metal, LET’S DO IT! Massacre‘s return last year was such a hit, they stomped the gas with new material and voila! a new EP, then we’ve got black metal from both Hulder (hotly anticipated from what I understand) and Black Cilice which looks and sounds much darker, next we’ve got some insane deathgrind from Narakah, and as usual, a very long list of other releases well worth your time to investigate. Happy hunting and we’ll see you here throughout the week.

Continue reading