Visions ov Hell: Hannes Grossman – “Hail Satan”


Hannes Grossmann (Alkaloid, Blotted Science, Hate Eternal, ex-Obscura, ex-Necrophagist) is set to release his sophomore solo album whenever his crowdfunding campaign allows. Hannes did this a bit differently than the usual campaign. You can basically purchase stock in the album by way of pre-sale. A bit more interesting since you have the chance to actually hear a bit of the product you’re investing in. The media presence has been pretty intense. You can catch a video chat with Hannes here. Last month saw the debut of the first single from The Crypts of Sleep which you can listen to here.

The new album was entirely written, arranged, self-recorded and self-produced by Hannes Grossmann between September 2015 and June 2016 at his own Mordor Sounds studio. The personnel is eclectic and star-studded: Grossmann plays drums on the entire album yet he enlisted the the help of numerous all-stars in the extreme music scene including:

  • Danny Tunker (Alkaloid, Abhorrent, ex-Aborted) Rhythm and Lead Guitars
  • Linus Klausenitzer (Obscura, Alkaloid, Noneuclid) – Bass
  • Morean (Alkaloid, Dark Fortress, Noneuclid) – Vocals
  • Christian Muenzner (Spawn of Possession, ex-Obscura, ex-Necrophagist) – Lead Guitars
  • Fountainhead (ex-Obscura, Despotic) – Lead Guitars
  • Per Nilsson (Scar Symmetry) – Lead Guitars
  • Erik Rutan (ex-Morbid Angel, Hate Eternal) – Lead Guitars

Says Hannes regarding the album:

I can’t express how excited I am about my new solo album. This time I came up with very compact arrangements, which make the material sound way more cohesive as a whole. The songs on the album are very melodic, but at the same time I think it’s my heaviest output so far.

Besides six brand-new compositions, there are also three songs on the album which I had written for the next Obscura album before I quit the band. I love those songs, so I decided to keep them for my second solo release – and here we are…

I guess you could call this album one of the heaviest melodic death metal albums ever – if you’re a friend of superlatives. You could also call it ‘Iron Maiden Death Metal” – and you probably wouldn’t be that far off the truth. However, I would call ‘The Crypts Of Sleep’ a worthy sequel of what was started on Obscura’s ‘Cosmogenesis’, and what I developed on ‘Omnivium’ and my last solo output ‘The Radial Covenant.

Feel like being a good fan and donating to something before it’s released? Feel like you have enough proof  that this album will be well worth your investment? You can donate here.

– Manny-O-War

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s