Initial Descent: May 24 – 30, 2020

Centinex (photo courtesy of Jelena Sulce)

New metal, long list, you need it, we got it, let’s do it. Alright then, if you had to ask yourself who that is in the header image…FOR SHAME! It’s none other than Centinex who’ve been around for 30 years now and who continue to be a freaking PILLAR of death metal on their eleventh full length—just do it. Violent Hammer couldn’t have picked a better band name since the sound on their war/black/death full length debut hits like a damn hammer, Adzes take the all in approach with their sludge, noise, post-alot, gazey sound but it works and amazingly so, and Sorcerer shed the doom by numbers approach on their third full length and opt for the epic approach and, yes indeed, it works. There it is, four rotundly killer releases to kick things off AND we’ve got so much more hiding just below. Go now and drop all the cash on all the metals.

Centinex - Death In Pieces

Centinex – Death In Pieces (Agonia) – death metal

Violent Hammer - Riders of the Wasteland

Violent Hammer – Riders of the Wasteland (Hells Headbangers) – black / death

Adzes - No One Wants to Speak About It

Adzes – No One Wants to Speak About It (Tridroid) – sludge / noise

Sorcerer - Lamenting of the Innocent

Sorcerer – Lamenting of the Innocent (Metal Blade) – doom

Also on tap:

A Sea of Dead Trees – Boaby Coull (Trepanation Recordings) – blackgaze

Acârash – Descend To Purity (Dark Essence) – black metal

Akolyth – S/T (Amor Fati) – black metal

Alestorm – Curse of the Crystal Coconut (Napalm) – pirate metal

AntiMozdeBeast – The Red Beast (Independent) – industrial noise 

Astralborne – Eternity’s End, Vinyl Issue (Prosthetic) – melodic death metal 

Atavistia – The Winter Way (Independent) – melodic death metal

Behemoth – A Forest, EP (Metal Blade) – black / death

Bleed From Within – Fracture (Orchard) – modern metal

Blood Star – The Fear, EP (Shadow Kingdom) – trad metal

Blut – Hermeneutics (AUSR) – gothic metal

Calling All Astronauts – Welcome to the Black Bloc (Independent) – goth punk 

Deified – Anthrobscene (Independent) – metal

Enevelde – S/T (Terratur Possessions) – black metal

Evoker – Evil Torment (Blood Harvest) – extreme metal

Geezer – Groovy (Heavy Psych Sounds) – psych blues

Glutton – Eating Music (Apollon Records Prog) – prog

Grave Digger – Fields of Blood (Napalm) – power / heavy metal

Held In Secret – Nomads, EP (Independent) – metal

Ironstone – Prophecy, EP (Independent) – prog metal

Kryptamok – Verisaarna (Purity Through Fire) – black metal

Lesser Glow – Nullity (Pelagic) – atmospheric doom / sludge

Many Blessings – Emanation Body (Translation Loss) – noise 

Mike Lepond’s Assassins – Whore of Babylon (Silver Lining Music) – heavy metal

Misanthropic Rituals – A Path Through Absent Places (Independent) – black metal

Mrs. Piss – Self-Surgery (Sargent House) – dark folk

October Falls – A Fall of an Epoch (Purity Through Fire) – folk / black

Paralysis – Mob Justice (Independent) – crossover

Poccolus – S/T (Inferna Profundus) – black metal

Pulse – Black Knight (NRT) – cyber metal

Smiling Assassin – Plight of the Millennial (Independent) – hardcore

Songs From Black Spirit – I Am Who I Am (Sliptrick) – prog metal

The Committee – Utopian Deception (Folter) – black metal

The O’Reillys and the Paddyhats – Dogs On the Leash (Metalville) – folk punk 

Vincas – Phantasma (Learning Curve) – post-punk

Xibalba – Años En Infierno (Southern Lord) – death metal

– Josh

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s