Initial Descent: March 20 – 26, 2022

Absent In Body

Churchill once said “Tact is the ability to tell someone to go to hell in such a way that they look forward to the trip.” I’ll leave you with that to ponder and apply at will. Moving on, new releases this week are yet again on fire with a much anticipated debut from Absent In Body that features none other than a mix of Amenra and Neurosis and is, as expected, amazing. We’ve also got new stuff from Abbath which is always fun, Kontusion offer up a devastating debut death metal EP, Falls Of Rauros continue to reside on top shelf in the progressive black metal genre, and a whole host of other stuff hiding in the list below. Seek and destroy…your wallet.

Absent In Body – Plague God (Relapse Records) – dark doom

Abbath – Dread Reaver (Season of Mist) – black metal

Kontusion - Kontusion

Kontusion – S/T, EP (Independent) – death metal [profile]

Falls Of Rauros – Key to a Vanishing Future (Gilead Media) – progressive black metal

Also on tap:

8 Kalacas – Fronteras (Atomic Fire Records) – skacore

Above All – Disarm the Gods, EP (Independent) – metalcore

Ad Finem Omnia – No Peace – No Dawn (Purity Through Fire) – black metal

Aesthus – Hänen temppelinsä varjoissa (Purity Through Fire) – black metal

Animals As Leaders – Parrhesia (Sumerian) metal

Arrow Minds – Worrier (Dead Serious Recordings) – metalcore

As the World Dies – Agonist (Transcending Obscurity) – death metal

Åskväder – Fenix (The Sign Records) – garage rock

Astral Tomb – Soulgazer (Blood Harvest) – death metal

BÂ’A – Egregore (Osmose Productions) – black metal

Black-Out Arises – Oneself (Klonosphere) – rock

Bloodgate – Solace In Mourning (Independent) – modern metal

Caedeous – Obscurus Perpetua (Independent) – symphonic black metal

Capricorn – For the Restless (Wild Kingdom) – rock

Carnage of Children – Darkness Within (Music-Records) – black / death

Chaos Invocation – Devil, Stone & Man (W.T.C. Productions) – black metal

CirkeIn – A Song To Sorrow (True Cult) – black metal

Crown Magnetar – Alone In Death (Unique Leader) – deathcore

Crown of Madness – The Void (Independent) – atmospheric death metal

Day of Departure – S/T (Bravemusic) – metal

Desert Clouds – Planexit (Mandrone Records) – psych rock

Desolate Shrine – Fires of the Dying World (Dark Descent) – death metal 

Die With Fear – (I) Favor the Brave (Independent) – melodic death metal

Emily Jane White – Alluvion (Talitres) – dark

Eucharist – I am the Void (Helter Skelter / Regain) – melodic death metal

Falamh – Aeons Effigy, EP (Independent) – metal

Father Befouled – Crowned In Veneficum (Everlasting Spew) – death metal

Grand Harvest – Consummatum Est (Messor Grandis Productions) – metal

Hallux Valgus – Reflections of Distant Dreams (Edged Circle) – metal

Hellblind – A Plague On All Your Horses, EP (Revenger) – metal

Heltekvad – Morgenrodens Helvedesherre (Eisenwald) – black metal

Hilltops Are For Dreamers – In Disbelief (Rockshots) – metal

Ignite – S/T (Century Media) – hardcore

Infested Angel – Submit to Death (Independent) – black / death

Kanonenfieber – Yankee Division, 7″ (Avantgarde Music) – black metal

Killing Joke – Lord of Chaos, EP (Spinefarm) – metal

Light Beneath – S/T (Inverse) – post-metal

Lost Tribes of the Moon – Chapter II: Tales of Strife, Destiny, and Despair (Independent) – metal

Lucid Conformity – Escape the Construct (Independent) – metal

Lucifer’s Child / Mystifier – Under Satan’s Wrath (Agonia) – black / death

Luzifer – Iron Shackles (High Roller) – metal

Mortify – Fragments at the Edge of Tomorrow (Chaos) – death metal

Mortuus Infradaemoni – Immortuos Sum (Iron Bonehead) – black metal

MWWB – The Harvest (New Heavy Sounds) – metal

Necrom – All Paths Are Left Here… (Osmose Productions0 – death metal

Necromante – XI (Iron Bonehead) – black metal

Niamh – Autumn Noir (Electric Talon) – metal

Night Demon – Year of the Demon, Compilation (Metal Blade) – heavy metal 

Nightwraith – Offering (Reaping Scythe) – melodic death metal

Nite – Voices of the Kronian Moon (Season of Mist) – metal

NONE – Interdimensional War Poetry, EP (WormHoleDeath) – neofolk / black metal

On The Loose – Midnight (Independent) – doom

Order of Nosferat – Nachtmusik (Purity Through Fire) – black metal

Pist.On – Cold World, EP (Independent) – rock

Plakkaggio – Verso La Vetta (Time To Kill / Hellnation Music) – metal / punk

R.A.I.D – Defiance (Rottweiler Records) –  hardcore thrash

Rise of Kronos – Council of Prediction (Independent) – death metal

Senzar – Pyre of Throes (Independent) – black metal

Soonago – Fathom (Kapitän Platte) – post-metal

Spill Your Guts – The Wrath It Takes (PermaCityPunk Records / Trepanation Recordings / Graboid Of The Ground Records) – blackened hardcore

Spiral Skies – Death Is But A Door (AOP) – psych rock

Straight Opposition – Path of Separation (Time To Kill) – hardcore

Sum Of R – Lahbryce (Consouling Sounds) – psych doom

VR Sex – Rough Dimension (Dais Records) – acid punk

Witchpit – The Weight of Death (Heavy Psych Sounds) – sludge


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s