Initial Descent: March 26 – April 1, 2023


This week comes to a halt on April Fools Day so get all your hijinx ready to roll and be prepared. With that said, there’s no fooling in this week’s batch of new releases that we kick off with the bearded bashers Allfather and their newest collection of violent and deadly anthems, then we’ve got black metal from Blaze of Sorrow, serrated grindcore from Rotten Sound, and more black metal from Lamp of Murmuur. As always though, there’s a ton more hiding out in the list below that are sure to make all of you happy, mad, sad, want to tear down the walls, or whatever you need to do so get to digging and we’ll see you here throughout the week.

Allfather – A Violent Truth (Trepanation Recordings) – sludge / hardcore / metal

Blaze of Sorrow – Vultus Fati (Eisenwald) – atmospheric black metal

Rotten Sound – Apocalypse (Season of Mist) – grindcore

Lamp of Murmuur – Saturnian Bloodstorm (Argento / Not Kvlt) – black metal [full review]

Also on tap:

Aara – Triade III: Nyx (Debemur Morti Productions) – black metal

Absentia Lunae – Marching Upon Forgotten Ashes (ATMF) – black metal

Abysmal Grief – Despise the Living, Desecrate the Dead (Avantgarde Music) – dark

Ad Infinitum – Chapter III – Downfall (Napalm) – symphonic metal

Anathematise – Bizarre Tales from the Past and the Future (Awakening Records) – death thrash

Archetypes Collide – S/T (Fearless) – modern metal

Arrogant Destruktor – Written in Blood from the Blade (Awakening Records) – black metal

Atlas : Empire – Everything Is Temporary (WormHoleDeath) – alt-rock

Bad Blood – The Bad Kind Decides, EP (Flatspot) – hardcore

Behemoth – Grom (Metal Blade) – black / death

Blood and Sun – Ochre (Nordvis) – folk metal

Bloody Apostles – S/T, EP (Hells Headbangers) – old school punk

Bury Tomorrow – The Seventh Sun (Music For Nations) – metal

Cave In – Until Your Heart Stops, Rerelease (Relapse) – metal

Contemporary Noise Ensemble – An Excellent Spiritual Serviceman (Denovali Records) – jazz/electronica

Crown Lands – Fearless (Spinefarm) – rock

Dead End Finland – Victory (Inverse Records) – melodic metal

Dead Soul Revival – Ignite (Sliptrick) – rock

Decorpsetated – Human Words (Independent) – death / thrash

Demonstealer – The Propaganda Machine (Black Lion) – prog death

Derhead – The Grey Zone Phobia (Brucia) – black metal

Desert Storm – Death Rattle (APF) – prog metal

Diablation – Par Le Feu (Osmose) – black metal

DreamSpy – Out Of This World (Inverse Records) – dark rock

Edredon Sensible – Montagne Explosion (Independent) – free jazz

Evilcult – The Devil is Always Looking for Souls (Awakening Records) – heavy metal

Grafhond – In harmonie met de dood (Void Wanderer / War) – black metal

Grieve – Wolves of the Northern Moon (Werewolf) – black metal

Heezer – Sungrinder (Argonauta Records) – stoner rock

Hellion – The Magic Within (Awakening Records) – black thrash

Hot Graves – Plaguewielder (Gurgling Gore) – death metal

Invicta – Triumph and Torment (Sublevel) – melodic death / thrash

ISAAK – Hey (Heavy Psych Sounds) – stoner

Kommand – Death Age (20 Buck Spin) – death metal

Last In Line – Jericho (earMUSIC) – metal

Lordi – Screem Writers Guild (Atomic Fire Records) – monster metal

Lotan – S/T (UPRISING! Records) – black metal

Mammon’s Throne – S/T (Brilliant Emperor) – doom

Megalith Levitation – Obscure Fire (Aesthetic Death) – doom

Milanku – À l’aube (Folivora / D7i / Moment of Collapse) – post-metal

Monachopsis Art – An Empty Existence (Forgotten Friends) – black metal

Necronomicon Ex Mortis – S/T (Independent) – death metal

Nervochaos – Chthonic Wrath (Emanzipation) – extreme

Netherlands – Severance (Svart Records) – progressive sludge

Old Forest – Sutwyke (Soulseller) – black metal

Outlaw – Reaching Beyond Assiah (AOP Records) – melodic black metal

Pandemic – Crooked Mirror (Awakening Records) – speed thrash

Poh Hock – Gallimaufry (Independent) – experimental

Sermon – Of Golden Verse (Prosthetic Records) – prog metal

Sieluhaaska – Kun aurinkoni kuoli (Purity Through Fire) – black metal

Smallpox Aroma – Festering Embryos of Logical Corruption (Inhuman Assault) 0- grindcore

Spirit Possession – Of The Sign… (Profound Lore Records) – black metal

Swan Valley Heights – Terminal Forest (Fuzzorama) – psych rock

The Evil – Seven Acts To Apocalypse (Osmose) – doom rock

The Ongoing Concept – Again (Solid State) – rock

This Means War – Omnivore Doctrine (Gymnocal Industries) – thrash

Tilintetgjort – In Death I Shall Arise (Dark Essence Records) – black metal

Torrential Thrill – State of Disaster (Independent) – rock

Unpure – Prophecies Ablaze (Invictus / The Ajna Offensive) – black metal

VileDriver – The Rest Are Prey (CDN Records) – death metal

Vision Deprived – Self Elevating, Deep Inside the Void (Slaughterhouse) – death metal

Visions of Atlantis – Pirates Over Wacken (Napalm) – symphonic metal

Voidscape – Odyssey of Spite, EP (Nefarious Industries) – melodic death metal

Vredensdal – Sonic Devotion To Darkness (Soulseller) – black metal

Wulfskol / Hexella – Split (Goat Throne) – speedWyoming Young and Strong – Bend the Night, EP (Independent) – stoner / doom


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s