Initial Descent: April 16 – 22, 2017

Casket Huffer
Casket Huffer

Ok so, current events happened — blah, blah. No time to waste this week as we have a TON of new metal to get into so waste not here we go: Casket Huffer rule the week with a limited vinyl and digital release of their absolutely sick death metal debut Gospels of Scum. There’s no amount of words I can say here to convince you to pick this up but trust me when I say you NEED this album in your life, period. Next up is Artificial Brain with Infrared Horizon and honestly this is a mindf**k of a technical death metal (not tech death) album but in the best of ways so DO check it out, you’ll be glad you did. Moving on, everyone’s favorite Finns Foreseen return with their second full length Grave Danger and if you loved Helsinki Savagery (most of you did) then you will feel the same about this thrashtastic album, jump on it. Rounding out the opening slots is Night Demon with their second full length of wickedly good and classically tinged heavy metal, Darkness Remains — yes it is every bit as good as their debut and yes it is every bit as catchy, pick it up for the sake of all things metal. There you have it with the opening salvo but I did say there is a TON to wade through so get cracking, right after the jump.

Casket Huffer - Gospels of Scum

Casket Huffer – Gospels of Scum, Limited LP (Hibernation Release Records) – death metal [full review]

Artificial Brain - Infrared Horizon

Artificial Brain – Infrared Horizon (Profound Lore) – death metal [full review]

Foreseen - Grave Danger

Foreseen – Grave Danger (20 Buck Spin) – thrash metal

Night Demon - Darkness Remains

Night Demon – Darkness Remains (Century Media/SPV) – heavy metal

Also on tap:

A Long Way to Fall – Hatemosphere (Rockaine Records) – metalcore

Agresiva – Decibel Ritual (Minotauro Records) – heavy metal

Arctic Sleep – Arbors & Passage of Gaia Re-Releases (The Church Within Records) – doom metal

Avulsed – Night of the Living Deathgenerations, Live (Xtreem Music) – death metal

Blood of Angels – Rise of the Fallen Gods, EP (Hollywood Collective) – melodic death metal

Brown Acid – The Fourth Trip, Comp. (RidingEasy Records) – psych, rock, proto-metal

Cloud Rat/Crevasse – Split (Halo of Flies) – grind, powerviolence

Cloven Hoof – Who Morns for the Morning Star (High Roller Records) – heavy metal

Cry My Name – Reflections (Bastardized Recordings) – metalcore

Cryonic Temple – Into the Glorious Battle (Scarlet Records) – power metal [full review]

Cult of Luna – Years In A Day, DVD/Box Set (Indie Recordings) – post metal

Devil – To the Gallows (Soulseller Records) – doom, rock, heavy metal

Disharmony – The Abyss Noir (Grimm Distribution) – progressive doom metal

Emptybrook – S/T, EP (Inverse Records) – sludge metal

Enslaved – Roadburn Live (Roadburn Records/By Norse) – black metal

Farsot – Fail lure (Lupus Lounge/Prophecy Productions) – experimental black metal

Game Over – Blessed Are the Heretics, EP (Scarlet Records) – thrash metal

Ghost Bath – Starmourner (Nuclear Blast) – atmospheric black metal

Goldenpyre – In Eminent Disgrace (Signal Rex) – death metal

Guerrilla Ghost – Suicide Notes of the 21st Century (Triple Eye Industries) – punk, rap, hardcore

Hessaja – Planet Sedam: Ison, EP (WOOAAARGH) – progressive metal

Hiram-Maxim – Ghosts (Aqualamb) – shoegaze

In Death… – The Devil Speaks (Plastic Head) – death metal

Internal Bleeding – Final Justice, Single (Unique Leader) – death metal

Les Discrets – Prédateurs (Prophecy Productions) – post metal

Martyr Defiled – Young Gods (Independent) – metalcore

Medusa1975 – Rising From the Ashes (Svart Records) – psych hard rock

Moonbow – War Bear (Ripple Music) – rock

Mortör – Burn Up the Dead (CDN) – thrash, death metal

Mourners Lament – We All Be Given (Hammerheart Records) – doom, death metal

My Silent Wake – Damnatio Memoriae, Reissue (Minotauro Records) – doom, death metal

Obelyskkh – The Providence (Exile On Mainstream) – sludge, doom metal

Pale King – Monolith of the Malign (Soulseller Records) – death metal

Pyroxene – S/T, EP (Inverse Records) – heavy metal

Resurrect the Machine – Uncover the Truth (Minotauro Records) – metal, rock

Selvans – Lupercalia, Cassette (Fólkvangr Records) – atmospheric black metal

Syndrømes – S/T, EP (Halo of Flies) – crust, hardcore

Tehom – The Merciless Light (Blood Harvest) – death metal

The Electric Coast – Warming Quilt (Boersma Records) – punk, alt

The Projectionist – Exalted Solitude (Appalachian Noise Records/The True Plague Records) – black metal

The Sonic Dawn – Into the Long Night (Heavy Psych Sounds) – psychedelic alt rock

Toby Driver – Madonnawhore (The Flenser) – atmospheric

Ulvegr – Titahion Kaos Manifest (Ashen Dominion) – black metal

Vomit Remnants – Hyper Groove Brutality (Unique Leader) – brutal death metal

– Josh

One thought on “Initial Descent: April 16 – 22, 2017

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s