Initial Descent: August 9 – 15, 2020

Primitive Man – photo courtesy of Alvino Salcedo

Day by day it seems we’re edging closer to whatever end game is in store and this week’s list of new metal kicks off with two albums tailor made for it. Primitive Man could single handedly kick off, and lead, said end game festivities with their caustic as hell sludge-doom and Rope Sect could turn it into a dark party with their gloomy yet catchy deathrock—two totally opposing albums that are on the same wavelength and both rule. Anyway, offering a bit of respite is the new sorta-tech-sorta-brutal-but-all-fun death metal from Ingested and a slightly more death leaning black metal effort from Arrogant Destruktor. This is a top notch start but there’s much more below to get your apocalyptic soundtracks pulled together. So, get some.

Primitive Man - Immersion

Primitive Man – Immersion (Relapse) – primitive doom / sludge

Rope Sect - The Great Flood

Rope Sect – The Great Flood (Iron Bonehead) – deathrock

Ingested - Where Only Gods May Tread

Ingested – Where Only Gods May Tread (Unique Leader) – death metal

Arrogant Destruktor - No Fucking Mercy

Arrogant Destruktor – No Fucking Mercy (Void Wanderer Prods / Analog Ragnarok) – black / death

Also on tap:

Atræ Bilis – Divinihility (Transcending Obscurity) – tech-brutal death metal

Bear Mace – Charred Field of Slaughter (Independent) – death metal

Behind the Horror – Burn Up This Truth (Independent) – modern metal 

Blasphemous Putrefaction – Prelude to Perversion (Dunkelheit Produktionen) – death metal

Bull Elephant – Created From Death (Eat Lead and Die) – doom / heavy metal

Cancer – Opioid (Independent) – dbsm

Deathcave – Smoking Mountain (Satanik Royalty) – doom

Decoherence – Unitarity (Sentient Ruin) – industrial black metal

Esoteric – Metamorphogenesis, Remixed (Aesthetic Death) – funeral doom / death

Fange – Poigne, Vinyl Release (Throatruiner) – noise

Fermentor – Continuance (Independent) – instru-metal

Grimgotts – Sagas (Independent) – power metal

Halestorm – Reimagined, EP (Atlantic) – rock

Incarnate Deity – Theodicy (Independent) – black / death

Kairon; IRSE! – Polysomn (Svart) – avant

Kamelot – I Am the Empire – Live From The 013 (Napalm) – symphonic metal

King Buzzo with Trevor Dunn – Gift of Sacrifice (Ipecac) – avant

Nug – Alter Ego (Willowtip) – post-metal

Obscure Relic – First Black Communion (Helldprod) – black metal

Ov Shadows – I Djävulens Avbild (Hypnotic Dirge) – black metal 

Poisonous Birds – We Can Never Not Be All Of Us, EP (Independent) – alt

Prosanctus Inferi – Hypnotic Blood Art (Nuclear War Now! Productions) – black / death

Put’ – The Songs of the Death (Antiq) – black metal

Siege Column – Darkside Legions (Nuclear War Now! Productions) – metal

Synthvvitch – baby, the inferno is here (Independent) – post-metal

The Natural Disasters – Tormenta (Moondrop) – goth

The Oracle – Hypogeum (Repose) – electronic

The Phantom Carriage – 7-Year Epilogue, Vinyl Release (Throatruiner) – blackened hardcore

Tic Tic – Comfort In the Echo (Apollon) – dark electro-pop

Titan To Tachyons – Cactides (Nefarious Industries) – avant / instrumental

Wicked Sisters – wired_backwards (Independent) – doom / industrial

– Josh

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s