Initial Descent: August 15 – 21, 2021

Wolves In The Throne Room

Even in a light volume release week, 2021 is still pumping out the quality jams. Questionable, obviously, pending individual tastes but no one can argue with the latest from Wolves In The Throne Room who pump out, in my opinion, one of their best albums in a mighty long time. Strong statement? Absolutely. True statement? Again, absolutely. Next up is Bonehunter who have never taken themselves seriously, but have always thrown out serious quality speed metal, and last in the top slots here is Beastlurker with a beast (see what I did there, Monday morning glee folks) of a blackened death metal album. Not a ton more follows, but rest assured there’s several down there worth your time and hard earned cash. So, get to it and we’ll see you here throughout the week.

Wolves In The Throne Room – Primordial Arcana (Relapse Records) – cascadian black metal

Bonehunter – Dark Blood Reincarnation System (Hells Headbangers) – speed metal

Beastlurker – Celestial Henchwhores Aflame (Godz Ov War Productions) – black / death

Also on tap:

Alberto Rigoni – Metal Addicted, EP (Independent) – cover songs

Altars Of The Moon – Brahmastra (Disorder Recordings) – experimental post-metal

Arcane Existence – Colossus (Independent) – symphonic black metal

Barbarian Prophecies – Horizon (Worldwide) – death metal 

Black Swamp Water – Awakening (Mighty Music) – thrash

Black Wound – To The Endless Depths (Dry Cough Records) – death doom

Borboropsis – Decorticated Burial Of Delirium (Solitude Digital) – death/doom

Cemetery Echo – Come Share My Shroud (Petrichor) – deathrock

Cinema Cinema – CCXMDII (Nefarious Industries) – art punk

Dare – Against All Odds (Revelation) – hardcore

Francis Root / Sconsacrata – Split (Trepanation Recordings) – psych black metal

Gloop – Crayon Sun (Grimoire Records) – noise rock

Lesotho – Summer Wars (Independent) – post-metal

Little Jimi – The Cantos (Mrs Red Sound) – space doom 

Majestic Mass – Onwards, 12″ maxi single (Helter Skelter / Regain) – rock

Mythopoeic Mind – Hatchling (Apollon) – prog

Ominous Conclusions – The Outsider (Independent) – metal

One With the Riverbed – Absence (Snow Wave) – black metal

Ravendust – The Gold of the Aura (Independent) – black metal

Sacrifixion – Shower Me In Death, EP (Hells Headbangers) – metal

Sailing Before The Wind – Immemorial, EP (Independent) – metalcore

Shotgun Sawyer – Thunderchief, Reissue (Ripple Music) – rock

Sun of the Suns – Tiit (Scarlet) – metal

Tangled Thoughts Of Leaving – Deaden The Fields (Bird’s Robe Records) – post-metal

The Blood of Christ – Frozen Dreams & The Lonely Flowers of Autumn, Reissues (CDN) – death metal 

The Blue Prison – S/T (Metal Assault) – prog 

Theyrgy – Exit Strategies (Independent) – post-punk

Winter Nights – Sky Burial (Independent) – death metal 

Witchcryer – When Their Gods Come For You (Ripple Music) – doom

Wrath Division – (Godz Ov War Productions) – black / death


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s