Initial Descent: June 17, 2016

gojira band photo

Thought last week was a big week for new metal? Okay, you probably did — because it was, and because I told you it was. But compared to this week? Ha. Haha. Hahaha.

If last week was a big week, then June 17 is a HOLY-SHIT-YNGWIE-MALMSTEEN-JUST-ATE-DINO-CAZARES week. We’ve got stuff dropping from all over the spectrum today, from Gojira‘s long-awaited sixth full-length, Magma, to the much-hyped third album from Oxnard grinders Nails. And a new one from Thrawsunblat. And one from Swans. Shit, there’s even a split from Blut Aus Nord and Ævangelist!

If you haven’t gathered by now: we’ve got a lot to listen to, so I’m going to cut my excited rambling off here and get to it. Here’s what’s on tap for this week:

June 17, 2016

Gojira – Magma (Roadrunner)

gojira magma album cover

Nails – You Will Never Be One of Us (Nuclear Blast)

nails you will never be one of us album cover

Thrawsunblat – Metachthonia (Ignifera)

thrawsunblat metachthonia album cover

Other New Releases of Note:

  • Swans – The Glowing Man (Young God / Mute)
  • Unlocking the Truth – Chaos (TuneCore)
  • Blut aus Nord / Ævangelist – Codex Obscura Nomina [split] (Debemur Morti)
  • Wayfarer – Old Souls (Prosthetic)
  • Manilla Road – Underground [EP] (High Roller)
  • Hammercult – Legends Never Die [EP] (Steamhammer)
  • Netherlands – Audubon (Prosthetic) [full review]

Keep it heavy,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s