Initial Descent: August 19, 2016

skeletonwitch band photo
Skeletonwitch release their new EP, “The Apothic Gloom,” via Prosthetic Records on August 19

I’m going to make this short, because frankly, I don’t want to spend much time on the internet today. Why? Because it seems like the internet, collectively, has a giant stick up its ass of late, and I don’t really have time for it. (Yes, there are exceptions. Duh.) Here’s an idea, everyone: take a deep breath and try spreading some positivity for a change. We’ll all be better off for it.

Anyway, what’s out this week? Skeletonwitch has a new EP dropping today. Winterfylleth has a new full-length dropping tomorrow. Blood Incantation dropped their debut full-length yesterday. I don’t know, there’s a lot — and most of it’s listed out after the jump, so just check it out there. As I said, I’ve neither the time nor the energy for this right now. So here’s what’s on tap for this week:

August 19, 2016

Skeletonwitch – The Apothic Gloom (Prosthetic)

Winterfylleth – The Dark Hereafter (Candlelight) [8/20]

[Full album drops tomorrow, but for now, here’s lead single “Ensigns of Victory”]

Blood Incantation – Starspawn (Dark Descent) [8/18]

Blood Incantation - Starspawn

Other New Releases of Note:

  • Massemord – The Cold Light of Suicide (This Winter Will Last Forever)
  • Hellbringer – Awakened from the Abyss (High Roller)
  • Sabaton – The Last Stand (Nuclear Blast)
  • Asenblut – Berserker (AFM)
  • Soilwork – Death Resonance [compilation] (Nuclear Blast)
  • Twilight Fauna – Fire of the Spirit (Ravenwood)
  • Stilla – Skuggflock (Bindrune)
  • Warpvomit – Barbaric Triumph of Evil (Iron Bonehead)
  • Bloodshed Remains – Peace (Demons Run Amok)
  • Die My Demon – Same World, Different Eyes (Demons Run Amok)
  • Vlad in Tears – Unbroken (NoCut)
  • Friend or Foe – Foe (Flatspot)
  • Destroying the Devoid – Paramnesia (Unique Leader)
  • Servers – Everything is OK (Undergroove)
  • Godstopper / The Great Sabatini – [split] (No List)
  • Darkher – Realms (Prophecy)
  • Antiquus Scriptum – In Pulvevrem Reverteris (Elegy)
  • Spire – Entropy (Iron Bonehead)
  • Politburo – Barrington Way (Leonard Skully)
  • Myrkur – Mausoleum (Relapse)
  • Mindscar – What’s Beyond the Light (self-release)
  • Bewitcher – Bewitcher (Divebomb)
  • The Apex – The Underbelly (self-release)
  • Fetal Autopsy – Backwoods Bloodshed (Meathook)
  • TMHM – Stage Names (self-release)
  • Death Courier – EP & Demo [reissue] (Nuclear War Now!)
  • Death Courier – Demise (Nuclear War Now!)
  • Shadow Witch – Sun Killer (Snake Charmer Coalition)

Keep it heavy,

Want Your Band’s New Album Included in Initial Descent?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s