Initial Descent: July 15 – 21, 2018


Kicking off another week, first thing, here on Initial Descent. None of you spoke up and said you hated the move to Monday so you’re stuck with it but I can’t think of a better way to get the momentum going than some new metal. Let’s do this.

First up is the fantastic debut, Seasons of Salt, from Khôrada which sees ex Agalloch and Giant Squid members unite to form a dark and challenging but beautiful piece of work. Mutilation Rites return with their fiery and filthy brand of black / death metal on Chasm, Future Cult sees The Lion’s Daughter mix extreme metal with 80s style slasherwave which equals a big score, and Wölfblood pull all the stops on their motorpunk, speed warped EP Nightriders which finally sees physical release so get on it.

There you have it, week is officially kicked off. Great openers but there’s many more to get into so stick around. We’ll be seeing you here throughout the week.

Khôrada - Salt

Khorada – Salt (Prophecy Productions) – dark metal [full review]

Mutilation Rites - Chasm

Mutilation Rites – Chasm (Gilead Media / Argento Records) – black / doom / punk [feature review]

The Lion's Daughter - Future Cult

The Lion’s Daughter – Future Cult (Season of Mist) – death / black / slasherwave

Wölfblood - Nightriders

Wölfblood – Nightriders, EP (Reaper Metal Productions / Seeing Red Records) – motorpunk

Also on tap:

Al-Namrood – Ten Years of Resistance (Shaytan Productions) – black metal [feature]

Aparthiva Raktadhara – Agyat Ishvar, 7” EP (Iron Bonehead) – black / death

Arrowbridge – Sirius (Independent) – progressive / djent

Black Elephant – Cosmic Blues (Small Stone Records) – fuzz rock

Carnal Decay – When Push Comes To Shove, EP (Rising Nemesis Records) – brutal death metal

Cemetery Lust – Rotting in Piss (Hells Headbangers) – thrash

Creatures – II (Old Haunt Records) – modern death metal

Cryonic Temple – Deliverance (Scarlet Records) – power metal

Dentist – Night Swimming (Cleopatra Records) – indie rock

Depths of Hatred – Bloodguilt (Prosthetic) – tech death

Epica – Epica vs. Attack On Titan Songs, EP (Nuclear Blast) – symphonic metal

Evil Triplet – Have a Nice Trip (Super Secret Records) – heavy psych

Extremity – Coffin Birth (20 Buck Spin) – death metal [feature review]

Jarboe & Byla – Viscera, Reissue (Translation Loss Records) – ambient noise

Jungle Rot – S/T (Victory Records) – death metal

Finnr’s Cane – Elegy (Prophecy Productions) – atmospheric black metal

Her Despair – Mournography (Independent) – goth metal

Oxygen Destroyer – Bestial Manifestations of Malevolence and Death (Redefining Darkness) – death metal

Parius – The Eldritch Realm (Independent) – melodic death metal

Powerwolf – The Sacrament of Sin (Napalm Records) – heavy metal

Sahon Chanting For the Fallen (Transcending Obscurity) – thrash

Senzar – Non-Titled (Hostile Media) – extreme metal

Skeletonwitch – Devouring Radiant Light (Prosthetic Records) – black / death / thrash

Spaceslug – Eye The Tide (BSFD Records) – psych doom [full review, feature]

Troops of Doom – Fear (Raw Skullz Records) – hardcore

Vanhävd – Låt köttet dö (Independent) – doom

Vokonis – Olde One Ascending, Reissue (Ripple Music) – prog metal

Zombiefication – Below the Grief (Doomentia) – death metal

– Josh

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s