Initial Descent: July 11 – 17, 2021


Nose still on the grindstone, still salty from last week with a few more wounds that received extra doses of salt over the past seven days, and in serious need of a vacation. At least one of those will be remedied in short order, and hopefully that will reset the others. Hopefully. Moving right along, new release list time and this week we’ve got a bit of a longer list than last week so there’ll be plenty of happy hunting for many of you. Score! We’ve got tech death from both Cognitive and Ophidian I, insane death / doom from Severed Boy, melodic death metal from Dungeon Serpent, and a whole host of stuff from nearly every genre and branch out there. Dive in, delight your earholes, and lighten your wallet.

Cognitive – Malevolent Thoughts of a Hastened Extinction (Unique Leader) – tech death

Ophidian I – Desolate (Season of Mist) – tech death

Severed Boy – Tragic Encounters (Caligari) – death / doom

Dungeon Serpent – World of Sorrows (Nameless Graves) – melodic death metal

Also on tap:

Alpha Bootis – Circling the Belt of Orion (Independent) – synth metal

Black Hosts – Onward Into the Abyss (Helldprod) – thrash

Blunt Horse / Grilth – Split (Independent) – sludge 

Chestcrush – Vdelygmia (Independent) – death / sludge

Clouds – Departe, Reissue (Personal Records) – doom

Damiana – Vines (Hausu Mountain) – experimental

Death On Fire – Six Foot Box (Independent) – death metal 

Dimentianon – Dreaming Yuggoth (Paragon) – black / death / doom

Fell Harvest – Pale Light In a Dying World (Independent) – doom

Hell Strike – Hellstrike (Chaos Records) – death metal

Inhuman Architects – Paradoxus (Vicious Instinct) – deathcore

Interstitia – Hermes Slips the Trap (Pax Aeternum) – experimental

Jason Payne & The Black Leather Riders – The Abyss (Independent) – metal

Leila Abdul-Rauf – Phantasiai (Cyclic Law) – multi-instrumental

Lower Automation – S/T (Zegema Beach Records) – progressive metal

L’uomo Nero – Elle, De La Mer (Desert Records) – occult rock

Malacoda – The Strain (Independent) – goth metal

Malvost – Oljud (Trepanation Recordings) – drone 

Mask of Satan – Underneath the Mire (Iron, Blood, and Death Corp.) – death metal 

Matti Riekki – North From Here – The Story of Sentenced (Svart) – book

Midwife – Luminol (The Flenser) – heaven metal

Molis Sepulcrum – Let for the Worms (Pulverised) – death metal

Mortyfear – My Dystopia (Inverse) – metal

Nothing Sacred – No Gods (Rockshots) – thrash

Onirica – Burn the Ashes (Independent) – atmospheric black metal 

Paradise Lost – At The Mill (Nuclear Blast) – gothic/doom

Parasitic Entity – The Self-Aggrandising Lie (Spirit Coffin Publishing) – tech-prog

Prayer Line – Thrill Me, Lick Me, Fuck Me, Kill Me (Independent) – thrash / horror

Razor – Escape the Fire, Reissue (High Roller) – metal

Shotgun Mistress – S/T (Crusader) – hard rock

Silent Obsession – Countdown (Independent) – death metal

Solar Haze – The Solar Age (Metal Assault) – sludge / stoner 

Space Chaser – Give Us Life (Metal Blade Records) – thrash

The Grasshopper Lies Heavy – A Cult That Worships A God Of Death (Learning Curve Records) – post hardcore

Times of Grace – Songs of Loss and Separation (Wicked Good / ADA) – doom

Towards Atlantis Lights – When the Ashes Devoured the Sun (Melancholic Realm Productions) – funeral doom 

Valyear – Revolution Fear (Wormholedeath) – metal

Vandor On A Moonlit Night Scarlet power metal 

Velvet Insane Rock ‘n’ Roll Glitter Suit Wild Kingdom glam

Vomit Ritual Callous Pulverised death metal

Vouna Atropos Profound Lore doom

Weston Super Maim 180-Degree Murder Dark Trail tech metal

Wizzerd vs Merlin Turned to Stone Chapter III Ripple Music psych metal / prog


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s