Initial Descent: August 5, 2016

Chicago’s Russian Circles release their new album, Guidance, on August 5. (Photo by Nicholas Sayers)

Morning, kiddos. It’s a pretty cool Friday, all things considered. For one, it’s my last day at my job. For another, I just had my brain annihilated by Carcass, Ghoul and Night Demon last night at the Gramercy Theatre. (Also, Crowbar played.) You might say I’m kinda jacked on this week, and you’d be right. Factor in some new metal on top of that? Game on. So what’ve we got this week?

Well, we start with Guidance, the new, sixth album from Chicago instrumental trio Russian Circles. Beyond that? All manner of things: VukariNecromancing the Stone (which my colleague Manny-O-War is super high on), Bloody Hammers (with whom my other colleague Tenebrous Kate had an awesome interview)…you name it. Beginning this week, we’re also expanding our “Other New Releases of Note” section to cover even more new releases. Want your band featured in an upcoming edition? Send us your info! We’ve added a new submission form at the very end of the post to do just that.

Exciting stuff all around. But for now, let’s focus on this week — here’s what’s on tap:

August 5, 2016

Russian Circles – Guidance (Sargent House)

[full review]

Vukari – Divination (Bindrune) [8/1]

vukari divination

Necromancing the Stone – Jewel of the Vile (Metal Blade)

necromancing the stone - jewel of the vile

Other New Releases of Note:

  • Bloody Hammers – Lovely Sort of Death (Napalm) [interview]
  • Zephyra – As the World Collapses (Inverse)
  • The Infamous Gehenna / Bleach Everything – Heavy Metal Suicide [split] (Magic Bullet)
  • Zlatanera – Legerdemain (self-release)
  • MaidaVale – Tales of the Wicked West (The Sign)
  • Tarja – The Shadow Self (earMUSIC)
  • Septicflesh – Revolution DNA [reissue] (Season of Mist)
  • Dead Nexus – Bound by Flesh [EP] (self-release)
  • Morphinist – Terraforming (Sick Man Getting Sick)
  • Armed with Books – Honestly Honesty (Grandad)
  • Temple Nightside – The Hecatomb (Iron Bonehead)
  • Svlfvr – Shamanic Lvnar Cvlt (Bakerteam)
  • The Inconsistent Jukebox – Bold Ego Fledgling [single] (Supersonic)
  • King Buffalo – Orion (self-release)
  • End Xian – Soft Rock (Halfpear)
  • Denominate – Those Who Beheld the End (Inverse)
  • Integrity – Those Who Fear Tomorrow [reissue] (Magic Bullet)
  • The Company Corvette – Never Enough (The Company)
  • Nomad Stones – Nomad Stones (Brutal Panda)
  • Carnifex – Slow Death (Nuclear Blast)
  • Eat the Turnbuckle – The Great American Bash Your Head In (Horror Pain Gore Death)
  • Mos Generator – Abyssinia (Listenable)
  • Scientist – 101001100101 (Hell Comes Home)
  • Cvlt of Grace – Tears (Unquiet)
  • Nukk – Nukk (Unquiet)
  • Ash – The Darkness Coming Here (Misanthropia)
  • Desolated Souls – As the Time Go By (self-release)
  • Unalei – Taedium Vitae (Club Inferno)
  • Pit of Carnage – The Rise of the Fallen King (CDN)
  • 13th Tambourine – Marsh Madness (SoundAge)
  • Bulletsize – Panzar (Iron, Blood, and Death)
  • Porta Dæmonium – Serpent of Chaos (Iron, Blood, and Death)
  • Stormtide – Wrath of an Empire (Metal Hell)
  • Paganizer – On the Outskirts of Hades (Transcending Obscurity)
  • Wired Anxiety – The Delirium of Negation (Transcending Obscurity)
  • Carnage Inc. – Fury Incarnate (Transcending Obscurity)
  • Mist of Mystery – Absense (Black Lion)

Keep it heavy,

Want Your Band’s New Album Included in Initial Descent?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s