Initial Descent: August 12, 2016

mizmor band
Ahead of a live debut at Migration Fest, Oregon’s Mizmor releases its new full-length, “Yodh,” on August 12.

Hey kids. I’m technically late with this because I’m at Migration Fest, but you know what? As I’m writing this, it’s only 9:45 AM out here in Olympia, Washington, so you can suck it. We’ll keep it quick because I’ve got a lot more to get to today — namely, exploring, festival stuff, beer drinking, etc. What’s coming out this week? Well, the highlight is Mizmor, whose new full-length, Yodh, finally drops today. There’s also stuff from Equilibrium (who I definitely didn’t realize were still a band), Vader, and all manner of other things. Marsh Dweller also technically drops on Monday, but I’m gonna cover it this week, because it’s pretty cool. So take a little look below and see for yourself — here’s what we’ve got on tap:

August 12, 2016

Mizmor – Yodh (Gilead)

mizmor yodh album cover

[full review]

Equilibrium – Armageddon (Nuclear Blast)

equilibrium armageddon album cover

Vader – Iron Times EP (Nuclear Blast)

vader iron times cover art

Other New Releases of Note:

  • Marsh Dweller – The Weight of Sunlight (Eihwarz) [8/15]
  • Rekoma – Circle of Hate (Inverse)
  • Spirit Adrift – Chained to Oblivion (Prosthetic)
  • Horseback – Dead Ringers (Relapse)
  • Lacrimas Profundere – Hope is Here (Oblivion / SPV)
  • Grave Desecrator / Slaughtbbath – Split 7″ (Hells Headbangers)
  • XII Boar – Beyond the Valley of the Triclops (self-release)
  • X-Method – Sex, Alcohol, Rebel Music (Pavement)
  • Infectology – Innards of Misanthropic Embodiment (Gore House)
  • Gape / Urethral Injection / Corprophemia / Cuff / Infected Cadaver – Quinte Essentials of Brutality, Vol. 1  [split] (CDN)
  • Howling Giant – Black Hole Space Wizard: Part I (self-release)
  • Orphalis – The Birth of Infinity (Amputated Vein)
  • Monolord – Lord of Suffering [single] (Riding Easy)
  • Décembre Noir – Forsaken Earth  (F.D.A. Rekotz)
  • Evoked – Lifeless Allurement [EP] (Go Fuck Yourself Productions)
  • Dawnbringer – XX [EP] (Ektro)
  • Mental Disaster – Raping the Symbol of Humanity (self-release)
  • Sonata Arctica – Closer to an Animal [single] (Nuclear Blast)
  • Maze of Terror – Ready to Kill  (P-18)
  • Enchiridion – The Realm of Blackened Perdition (self-release)
  • Helion Prime – Helion Prime (Divebomb)
  • Green Elder / Pensive Ceremony – [split] (Ravenwood)
  • Gilded Lily – Mongrel’s Light (self-release)
  • Hibria – XX (Test Your Metal)

Keep it heavy,

Want Your Band’s New Album Included in Initial Descent?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s