Initial Descent: August 26, 2016

subrosa band photo
Salt Lake City doom crew SubRosa release their fourth album, For This We Fought the Battle of Ages, via Profound Lore on August 26. (Image courtesy of the band)

Another Friday is upon us, and that means another slew of albums for y’all to digest. Leading the way is Salt Lake City’s SubRosa, who return with their fourth full-length, For This We Fought the Battle of Ages. (I just got my copy through #MetalBandcampGiftClub yesterday and am beyond psyched to dive in.)

We’ve also got a new album from Inquisition that contains a lot of words in its title (even more than SubRosa), as well as stuff from German legends Running Wild, other German legends Sodom and German not-quite-legends-but-still-pretty-damn-goods Imperium Dekadenz. (It’s a big week to be either verbose or German, what can we say?) We’ve got all that and more listed out below, so click that “Read More” link and get to it. Here’s what’s on tap for this week:

August 26, 2016

SubRosa – For This We Fought the Battle of Ages (Profound Lore)

Inquisition – Bloodshed Across the Empyrean Altar Beyond the Celestial Zenith (Season of Mist)

[full review]

Running Wild – Rapid Foray (Steamhammer)

running wild rapid foray album cover

Other New Releases of Note:

  • Sodom – Decision Day (Steamhammer/SPV)
  • Dark Forest – Beyond the Veil (Cruz del Sur)
  • Imperium Dekadenz – Dis Manibvs (Season of Mist)
  • Delain – Moonbathers (Napalm)
  • Hexenslaught – Demo I (Invictus)
  • While Sun Ends – Terminus (WOOAAARGH)
  • Astrophobos – Enthroned in Flesh (Triumvirate)
  • Nox – Ancestral Arte Negro 7″ EP (Forever Plagued)
  • Unbegotten – Proem of the Unborn (Forever Plagued)
  • The Wounded Kings – The Wounded Kings (Candlelight/Spinefarm)
  • Svartanatt – Svartanatt (The Sign)
  • Comas Cluster Void – Mind Cemeteries (self-release)
  • Bangladeafy – Narcopaloma (Nefarious Industries)
  • DGM – The Passage (Frontiers)
  • Dawn of Demise – The Suffering (Unique Leader)
  • Varhzaw – Twin Suns & Wolves’ Tongues (Blood Harvest)
  • Matyrion – Our Dystopia (Boersma)
  • Cloak of Organs – Cloak of Organs (self-release)
  • Motorowl – Om Generator (Century Media)
  • Osmium Guillotine vs. The Tickturds – Osmium Guillotine vs. The Tickturds (self-release)
  • Zed – Trouble in Eden (Ripple Music)
  • Dulvitund – Huldar Sló∂ir (Dissociated)
  • The Franks Daredevils – Dead Inside EP (Via Nocturna)
  • Nunslaughter – Supreme Beast 7″ Picture Disc (Hells Headbangers)
  • Kuolemanlaakso – M. Laakso – Vol. 1: The Gothic Tapes (Svart)
  • Bellringer – Jettison (Rock is Hell)
  • Die Young – No Illusions (Good Fight)
  • Worshipper – Shadow Hymns (Tee Pee)
  • My Regime – Dogmas (Scarlet)
  • Lesbian – Hallucinogenesis (Translation Loss)
  • Them Bulls – Them Bulls (Small Stone)
  • Human Compost – From the Grave They Crawl (HPGD)
  • Wretch – Wretch (Bad Omen)
  • Medevil – Conductor of Storms (self-release)
  • Surgikill – Sanguinary Revelations (Hells Headbangers) [full review]
  • Buildings / Volunteer – [split] (Triple Eye Industries)

Keep it heavy,

Want Your Band’s New Album Included in Initial Descent?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s