Initial Descent: March 18 – 24, 2018

Of Feather and Bone
Of Feather and Bone – photo courtesy of Pale With Decay

This thing we do with new releases every week is not unlike others new release blasts and we realize you can go anywhere for it but we appreciate you coming here. With that said, we hope you dig it but if not feel free to comment on what you don’t or if there’s something you’d like to see or if your band would like to be included. Our contact info can be found on the homepage and we are also on social media, hit us up. Tons of great stuff to get into this week so… Denver’s Of Feather and Bone send shockwaves through the crusty, gnarly death metal world with Bestial Hymns of Perversion, one of funeral doom’s most beloved members, Mournful Congregation, return with The Incubus of Karma, noise rockers High Priests focus on the riffs with debut Spinning and closing out the top slots this week is the return of melodic death metallers The Absence on A Gift for the Obsessed. As always, there’s much more to explore so dive in head first and get both ears full.

Of Feather and Bone - Bestial Hymns of Perversion

Of Feather and Bone – Bestial Hymns of Perversion (Profound Lore) – death metal [interview]


Mournful Congregation – The Incubus of Karma (20 Buck Spin / Osmose Productions) – funeral doom [feature review]

high priests - spinning

High Priests – Spinning (Triple Eye Industries) – stoner metal [full review]

The Absence - A Gift for the Obsessed

The Absence – A Gift for the Obsessed (M-Theory Audio) – melodic death metal

Also on tap:

Abduction – A l’Heure du Crépuscule (Finisterian Dead End) – black metal

Accurst – Messenger of Shadows (Aesthetic Death) – dark ambient

Altars of Grief – Iris (Hypnotic Dirge Records) – black / doom

Antlers – Beneath. Below. Behold. (Totenmusik / Ván Records) – melodic black metal

Atlas – Birthright (Inverse Records) – northcore

Automaton – S/T (Independent) – steampunk power metal

autumn – chandelier (Sett Records) – post-punk

Blutvial – Mysteries of Earth (Heidens Hart Records) – black metal

Borealis – The Offering (AFM Records) – melodic metal

Bruce Lamont – Broken Limbs Excite No Pity (War Crime Records) – avantgarde metal

Cardinal Roark – Tales From the Darkside (PRC / MVD / Planetworks) – black / thrash

Cave Bastard – The Bleak Shall Devour the Earth (Accident Prone) – doom / heavy

Coilguns – Millennials (Hummus Records) – noise

Crowned Kings – Sea of Misery (Demons Run Amok) – hardcore

Ddent – Toro (Independent) – industrial / gaze

Déjâ Mort – La Mort dans l’âme (PRC / MVD / Planetworks) – hardcore

Deseized – Paradigms (Negative Vibe Records) – metalcore

Discord – Crustfucker (Blackened Death) – crust

Eldritch – Cracksleep (Scarlet Records) – progressive metal

Et Moriemur – Epigrammata (Transcending Obscurity) – atmospheric doom

Foul Body Autopsy – This Machine Kills Zombies (Independent) – death metal

Freedom Hawk – Beast Remains (Ripple Music) – doom rock

Fuzz Lord – S/T (Fuzzdoom Records) – stoner / doom

Goreworm – The Path to Oblivion, EP (CDN Records) – death metal

Hell Obelisco – Swamp Wizard Rises (Argonauta Records) – sludge metal

Hide – Castration Anxiety (DAIS Records) – industrial

Hinayana – Order Divine (Independent) – death / doom

Ildra – Eðelland, Reissue (Heidens Hart Records) – pagan black metal

Into the Storm / Smooth Sailing – Split (Independent) – rock

Japanische Kampfhoerspiele – Back to Ze Roots (Bastardized Recordings) – death metal

Lenore S Fingers – All Things Lost On Earth (My Kingdom Music) – gothic metal

MaidaVale – Madness Is Too Pure (The Sign Records) – rock

Melted Space – Darkening Light (Sensory Records) – symphonic metal

Misanthropic Existence – Death Shall Be Served (Aesthetic Death) – black / death

Monster Magnet – Mindfucker (Napalm Records) – stoner rock

Mortiferum – Altar of Decay (Blood Harvest) – death metal

Nightmarer – Cacophony of Terror (Season of Mist) – death metal

Owl – Orion Fenix (Zeitgeister Music) – prog doom

Palace of the King – Get Right With Your Maker (Golden Robot Records) – rock

Preludio Ancestral – Oblivion (Fighter Records) – symphonic power metal

Replicant – Negative Life (PRC Music) – extreme metal

Ruined Nation – Restart (WOOAAARGH) – grindcore

Rusty Nails – Seasons of Hatred (Sliptrick Records) – modern metal

Sol de Sangre – S/T (Black Market Metal) – death metal

Sol Invictus – Necropolis (Prophecy Productions) – neofolk

Spirit of Rebellion – The Reign of Denial (PRC / MVD / Planetworks) – death metal

Spiritual Front – Amour Braque (Prophecy Productions) – suicide pop

Ssanahtes – S/T (WOOAAARGH) – post-black metal

Strangle Wire – The Dark Triad (Grindscene Records) – death metal

Strigampire – One Fix, Six Clouds and Nine Feet (PRC / MVD / Planetworks) – black / death

Sunnata – Outlands (Independent) – doom

The Sword – Used Future (Razor & Tie) – rock

Throneless – Cycles (Black Bow Records) – heavy doom

Thy Feeble Saviour – And Darkness Fell (Hells Headbangers) – black metal

Toxikull – The Nightraiser, EP (Mosher / Firecum Records) – speed / heavy

Ulkum – First Prophecy, Reissue (Redefining Darkness) – doom

Uuntar – Voorvaderverering, EP (Independent) – pagan black metal

worriedaboutsatan – Shift, EP (Wolves and Vibrancy Records) – electronic / post-rock

Yamamtaka // Sonic Titan – Dirt (Paper Bag Records) – prog / psych

Zer For Conduct – CTRL+Z (Nefarious Industries) – post-punk

– Josh

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s