Initial Descent: May 13 – 19, 2018


I won’t bore you to death with whatever sentiment I had on my mind because this is a week of new releases that deserves your full attention. Much. Good. Stuff. Leading things off are two legendary bands that combined, not counting a few bumps in the road, have 56 years of experience between them. The first of which, Amorphis, return with their melodically inclined heavy metal on Queen of Time and in my hours upon hours of listening to it since yesterday I firmly believe this is some of their best work. Yea, tall order I know, just give it a spin. Second up is At the Gates on To Drink From the Night Itself which took a little more time to really get into but the second half of this thing is a full on blast of epic proportions and “In Death They Shall Burn” is one of the best songs they’ve done in ages. Two great albums from two great legends BUT there’s more — The King Is Blind dropped an out of nowhere demo on us, The Ides of March, and their brand of grind/death/doom just gets better and more extreme as they age. (Guys, put a purchase option on the bandcamp page, PLEASE). Last up in the top slots is Seattle’s The Dark Red Seed with their debut full length Becomes Awake, dark folk hits me square in the right spot and this album has done that in spades. Killer opening with these four but there’s many more that are just as good waiting below. Enjoy and we’ll see you on the flip-side.

Amorphis - Queen of Time

Amorphis – Queen of Time (Nuclear Blast) – melodic heavy metal

at the gates - to drink from the night itself

At The Gates – To Drink From The Night Itself (Century Media Records) – death metal [full review]

The King Is Blind - The Ides of March Demo 2018

The King Is Blind – The Ides of March Demo 2018 (Independent) extreme metal

The Dark Red Seed - Becomes Awake

The Dark Red Seed – Becomes Awake (Prophecy Productions) – dark folk / psych [full review]

Also on tap:

20 Watt Tombstone – Death Blues vs The Dirty Spliff, Deluxe EP (Independent) – stoner rock [feature]

Airborn – Lizard Secrets (Fighter Records) – heavy metal

Apocrophex – AEternalis (Independent) – tech death

Aurora Borealis – Apokalupsis (Casus Belli / Beverina) – black / death

Barst – The Endeavor (Consouling Sounds) – doom

Big Kizz – Music is Magic (Tee Pee Records) – rock

BornBroken – The Years of Harsh Truths and Little Lies… (Independent) – metalcore

Chanid – Lucifer (Casus Belli / Beverina) – black metal

Coltsblood – Ascending Into Shimmering Darkness, Vinyl Edition (Black Bow) – doom

Duel – Live At the Electric Church (Heavy Psych Sounds) – doom rock

Dunnock – Little Stories Told By Ghosts (Acephale Winter) – black metal

Fallen Legion – Downfall, EP (Independent) – modern metal

Flame Acausal – Contra Mundum in Aeternum (Blood Harvest) – black / death

Forest of Grey – Crypsis (Beverina / Casus Belli Musica) – black metal

Gateway – Boundless Torture (Pulverised Records) – doom

Grayceon – IV (Translation Loss Records) – progressive metal [full review]

Hekate – Totentanz (Prophecy Productions) – neofolk

High Preistess – S/T (Ripple Music) – doom

Inverser – Demo (Caligari) – black / death

Kenos – Pest (My Kingdom Music) – brutal death metal

Khasm – Trinity (Sliptrick) – thrash / death

Morag Tong – Last Knell of Om (Independent) – psychedelic doom

Mos Generator – Shadowlands (Listenable Records) – heavy rock

Necros Christos – Domedon Doxomedon (Sepulchral Voice Records) – death metal

Nequient – Wolves At The Door (Nefarious Industries) – metal/hardcore

Nihil Eyes – Black Path (Ultraje) – death metal

Nocturnal Graves – Titan (Season of Mist) – death metal

Oksennus – Kolme Toista (Nuclear War Now!) – experimental metal

Rat Scabies – P.H.D. (Prison, Hospital, Debt) (Cleopatra Records) – rock / punk

Rose Tattoo – Blood Brothers, Reissue (Golden Robot Records) – rock

Rotterdam Ska Jazz Foundation – Big Horns, EP (WTF) – avantgarde

Sect Pig – Crooked Backs (Nuclear War Now! Productions) – avantgarde

Sergeant Thunderhoof – Terra Solus (Independent) – heavy rock

Slaughterday / Phantom Corporation – Severed Funeral / Belligerent Powers, Split (Bastardized Recordings) – crusty death metal

Spiral Skies – Blues For A Dying Planet (AOP) – psych rock

Suzisuzi – Microphone’s Counter Attack (Pure Evil Records) – punk / metal

The Exploding Boy – Alarms! (Drakkar Entertainment) – post-punk

The Shiva Hypothesis – Ouroboros Stirs (WormHoleDeath) – black / death

The Slyde – Awakening (Independent) – progressive metal

toRyse – Erased (Boersma Records) – metalcore

Valyria – Into the Dying of Time, EP (Independent) – power / progressive metal

Verberis – Vorant Gnosis (Pulverised Records) – black / death [feature review]

Vitamin X – Age of Paranoia (Southern Lord) – hardcore punk [full review]

VOR – Depravador (Third I Rex) – sludge

Wilt – Ruin (Vendetta) – black metal

Xael – The Last Arbiter (Test Your Metal Records) – symphonic metal

– Josh

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s