Initial Descent: June 20 – 26, 2021


Life is sparking again, live shows are popping off left and right, and every week of new metal releases has many something’s for everyone. Things are looking up in those regards, so rejoice…or hail Satan. Or whatever you do these days. This week in new metal uncovers the newest ritual from Amenra, a return to holistically bleak beginnings from Withered, a slappin’ slab of death metal from The Absence, wicked ugly death metal from Cerebral Rot, and the next black/doom/punk chapter from Darkthrone. Oh, you noticed? Yes, there’s five up top and could’ve easily been more but in the context of getting you to the rest of what lies below, I chopped it at cinco. Plenty here for everyone, so go and fire up these band’s bank accounts, pronto. Support what you love with ferocity and sing its praises loud even if no one cares. You do, and that’s all that matters.

Amenra – De Doorn (Relapse Records) – post-metal/doom/hardcore

Withered – Verloren (Season of Mist Underground Activities) – black/death

The Absence – Coffinized (M-Theory Audio) – death metal

Cerebral Rot – Excretion of Morality (20 Buck Spin) – death metal

Darkthrone – Eternal Hails…… (Peaceville) – black/doom/punk

Also on tap:

10,000 Years – II (Interstellar Smoke) – doom / sludge

Anders Buaas – Tarot (Apollon) – prog

Artach – Sworn to Avenge (Depressive Illusions) – black metal

Beleth – Silent Genesis (Narcoleptica Productions / Scorched Earth) – death metal

Belle Morte – Crime of Passion (WormHoleDeath) – metal

Beyond Man – S/T (The Sinister Flame) – black metal 

Bleached Cross / Shamewave – Split (No Funeral) – shoegaze / coldwave

Bong-Ra – Antediluvian (Tartarus) – doom

Catharsis – Human Failures (Mad Lion) – death metal

Cathexis – Untethered Abyss (Willowtip) – death metal 

Chotza – Plump u Primitiv (Folter) – black metal

Crosson – Live at the Orpheum (Galaxy) – glam

CRS – Live In Isolation (Concreto) – death metal 

De Arma – Strayed in Shadow (Trollmusic/SPKR) – gothic metal

Devin Townsend – Devolution Series #2 (InsideOut) – prog

Dying Whale – Problem With Immortality, EP (Nefarious Industries) – metal

Electric Haze – Get In Line (Idle North) – rock [profile]

Empire of Disease – With All My Hate (WormHoleDeath) – metal

Endless Chain – Forthcoming Past (Rockshots) – melodic death metal

Enslaved – Below The Lights/Chronicles of the Northbound/The Rise of Ymir/Utgard, Cinematic Tour 2020 (Nuclear Blast) – black metal

Existential Dread – Full Moon Bliss (Moonlight Cypress Archetypes) – drone / doom

Fractal Universe – The Impassable Horizon (Metal Blade) – prog metal

Gentle Giant – Free Hand (Alucard Music / Soulfood) – prog

Hellish Form – Remains (Translation Loss) – funeral doom

Institution D.O.L. – The Thelema Tales (Edged Circle) – electronic/industrial

Irae – Dangerovz Magick Zpells from the Mesziah of Death (Signal Rex) – black metal

Ison – Aurora (Avantgarde Music) – post-rock

La Merde – La Vie en Noir (Signal Rex) – industrial

Light the Torch – You Will Be the Death of Me (Nuclear Blast) – metal

Lord Mortvm – Diabolical Omen of Hell (Helter Skelter / Regain) – doom

Kilter – Sys (Alter-Native) – jazzy metal

Kollapse – Sult (Fysisk Format) – post-metal

Konkhra – Sexual Affective Disorder, Re-Release (Hammerheart) – death metal 

Lacuna Coil – Live From the Apocalypse (Century Media) – metal

Loch Vostok – Opus Ferox – The Great Escape (Vicisolum Productions) – prog metal

Lustmord & Karin Park – Alter (Pelagic) – ambient / electronic

Maitreya – Hyper Reels (Independent) – metal

Mental Cavity – Mass Rebel Infest (Creator-Destructor Records) – hardcore

Motörhead – No Sleep ’til Hammersmith, Box Set (BMG) – metal

North of South – The Tides In Our Veins (Independent) – metal

Odd Circus – Arch Nova, EP (Good Idea Music) – avant-rock

Perlaxe Occlusion – Raytraces of Death (Debemur Morti) – death metal

Pestilence – Exitivm (Agonia) – death metal

Prayers of Sanity – Doctrine of Misanthropy (Rastilho) – thrash

RMBLR – MF, EP (Independent) – punk

Seance Of… – The Colour of Magick (Signal Rex) – black metal

Siderean – Lost On Void’s Horizon (Edged Circle) – death metal

Stench Collector – Effluvatorium Du Jour (Redefining Darkness) – death metal

STÖNER – Stoners Rule (Heavy Psych Sounds) – desert rock

Suffer Yourself – Rip Tide (Aesthetic Death) – funeral doom

Suidakra – Wolfbite (MDD) – celtic death metal

Swami Lateplate – Doom Jazz, Reissue (Subsound) – doom jazz

Switchblade Jesus – Death Hymns (Hybrid Records) – death doom

Sxuperion – Auscultating Astral Moments (Bloody Mountain) – metal

Thy Catafalque – Vadak (Season of Mist) – avant-garde

Tommy Concrete – Hexenzirkel (Trepanation Recordings) – doom / prog

Various Artists – Black Waves of Adrenochrome – The Sisters of Mercy Tribute (Metalville) – gothic rock

VHF – Very High Frequency (Golden Robot) – rock

Vulture Lord – Desecration Rite (Odium) – black metal

Warmoon Lord – Battlespells (Werewolf) – black metal 

White Ward – Debemur Morti (Debemur Morti) – black metal

Wildstreet – III (Golden Robot) – rock


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s