The Nine Circles Playlist Vol. 190 (7.17.2021)

playlist - mixtape

Good morning and welcome to another exciting Nice Circles mixtape. This week, we bring you new singles from Iron Maiden, King Woman, Four Stroke Baron, and many, many more. Plus, classic Baroness, Bloc Party, and lo-fi sad boy jams to cover all your bases. Check it out at the link below.

We’ll see you in a couple of weeks; the mixtape is taking a short break while our intrepid Editor in Chief takes a much needed vacation.

– Vincent

The Nine Circles Playlist Vol. 154 (11.7.2020)

playlist - mixtape

Welcome to another edition of our Saturday morning mixtape series. This week, we’ve got an incredible reworking of a pop music staple by Khemmis’ Ben Hutcherson (subscribe to the man’s Patreon to fund further hijinks), plus some classic Glassjaw, the new music video from Schammasch, and even outlaw country for good measure. Check it out below.

– Vincent

The Nine Circles Playlist Vol. 143 (8.22.2020)

playlist - mixtape

Welcome to another edition of our Saturday morning mixtape series. This week, we’ve got the stunningly good new single from Thou and Emma Ruth Rundle’s collaborative album, a banger from the upcoming Hellripper album (which I’m looking forward to immensely), and a smattering of tech death for good measure. Tune in down below and see what catches your ear.

– Vincent

CANTO: Benighted, Varathron, Realize, and More


  • Benighted have shared a new single, which you can scoop up over on their Bandcamp page, titled “Serve to Deserve”. All proceeds benefit the Rock N’Eat concert venue in Lyon to help keep their doors open.
  • Varathron have released a live single for “Tenebrous”, taken from their upcoming 30th anniversary live album Glorification Under The Latin Moon, which drops on September 25th through Agonia Records.
  • The debut record from Repentance drop on September 25th through Art is War Records and Intercept Music, but you can get a taste of what’s to come right now with the new song and video for “God For A Day”.
  • If you’re in the mood for some industrial metal this Tuesday evening, check out the new video from Realize for “Slag Pile”. That track is taken from their upcoming sophomore release, Machine Violence, which is out on September 25th through Relapse Records.

“Ein Bier… bitte.”
– cmb

Initial Descent: April 5 – 11, 2020

Dool (photo courtesy of Nona Limmen)

Well, well, well. We’re all still in this crap. But, at least we’ve got good tunes to ride it out with and this week, there’s no shortage of good to be found. So, let’s do this. Dark metallers Dool return with an absolute stunner (no surprise here, amazing band and amazing music), Akurion uncover all the dark corners in their love letter to death metal and all its wares, Benighted continue their reign of all things insane via grinding death metal, and High Priestess turn doom on its ear with some Pink Floydish twists. Four albums up top and many, many more to go so get to it! Continue reading